Formes of Europe : of the European Union and of other organisations

International colloquium - 21st and 22nd October 2016

The international colloquium of the Foundation, approaching the theme “Forms of Europe: of the European Union and of other organisations”, took place from Friday 21st to the early hours of Saturday 22nd October. About 200 persons joined the scientific event in order to attempt to the communications of until fifteen experts.

The first day of the colloquium was devoted to presentations on the forms of Europe existing within the European Union. After the opening speech by Pat Cox, President of the Foundation, contributions were brought throughout the morning to develop this issue: the first focused on political and economic motivations behind the creation of the Euro (Dr Gilles Grin); the second on the political dimension of economic governance (Prof. Dario Velo) and the third on solidarity in the European Union (Melinda Merminod). A last contribution came concerning the difference in evolution between CFSP and JHA (Prof. Nicolas Levrat). Mr Pascal Fontaine, Vice-President of the Foundation and Honorary Director at the European Parliament, chaired the morning session that ended with discussions among speakers, actors-witnesses and the public.

The second part of the day was dedicated to issues relating to values in the European Union (Prof. Fausto de Quadros), the importance and limits of federalism for the EU (Prof. Sabine Saurugger) as well as the evolution of the community method (Prof. Gérard Bossuat), democracy in the EU (Prof. Gilbert Casasus) and a contribution by President Cox entitled « An Ever Closer or a More Perfect Union? ». This second part preceded the conference of Professor Leszek Balcerowicz, former vice-president of the Council of Ministers, ex Minister of Finance of the Republic of Poland and former President of National Bank of Poland. The conference focused on differences in economic growth among EU countries. Below are broadcast footage of the highlights of that masterful presentation on economics.

The colloquium extended to the early hours of Saturday October 22nd with presentations on the forms of Europe existing outside of the European Union i.e. through other organisations. It equally served as an opportunity to make a pitch for a new generation of researchers through a partnership between the Foundation and HEIRS (History of European Integration Research Society) and RICHIE (International Research Network of Young Historians of European Integration) networks. These researchers presented other forms of Europe through the NATO, the OSCE, the Council of Europe, the OECD and the EFTA. The morning session was chaired by Professor Brigid Laffan, Director of the Robert Schuman Centre at the European University Institute of Florence, who conducted a detailed analysis by commenting on the different presentations made.

Before President Cox’s gave his final statement to conclude that successful international colloquium, there was a long moment of discussion with speakers, actors-witnesses and the public on issues including the role of Switzerland in those organisations, the Brexit and its possible impacts on new forms of Europe, the historical importance of the post-war character of the organisations presented by contributors, the challenge of European defence as well as the future of Europe’s politics towards more federalism and a core of European integration.

Colloquium’s opening by Pat Cox, President of the Foundation, former president of the European Parliament and of the European Movement International

Leszek Balcerowicz’s keynote address

Discussion between Leszek Balcerowicz and Pat Cox

top

Formes d’Europe : de l’Union européenne et d’autres organisations

Colloque international - 21 et 22 octobre 2016

Le colloque international de la Fondation sur le thème « Formes d’Europe : de l’Union européenne et d’autres organisations » a eu lieu pendant la journée du vendredi 21 et la matinée du samedi 22 octobre. La manifestation scientifique a attiré environ 200 personnes qui se sont déplacées sur le campus de l’Université de Lausanne afin d’assister aux communications d’une quinzaine d’experts.

La première journée était consacrée aux formes d’Europe présentes au sein de l’Union européenne. Après l’ouverture du colloque par le président de la Fondation Pat Cox, différentes contributions sont venues étayer cette thématique pendant la matinée : une première sur les motivations politiques et économiques de la création de l’euro (Dr Gilles Grin) ; une seconde sur la dimension politique de la gouvernance économique (Prof. Dario Velo) ; puis une autre sur les solidarités dans l’Union européenne (Melinda Merminod) ; et enfin une dernière communication sur les raisons d’une évolution différenciée dans le cas de la PESC et la JAI (Prof. Nicolas Levrat). Monsieur Pascal Fontaine, vice-président de la Fondation et directeur honoraire au Parlement européen, a assuré la présidence de la séance du matin qui s’est terminée par des échanges avec les intervenants, les acteurs témoins et le public.

La deuxième partie de la journée a été consacrée à des questions portant sur les valeurs dans l’Union européenne (Prof. Fausto de Quadros), sur l’importance et les limites du fédéralisme pour l’UE (Prof. Sabine Saurugger) ainsi que sur l’évolution de la méthode communautaire (Prof. Gérard Bossuat), la démocratie dans l’UE (Prof. Gilbert Casasus) et une contribution du président Cox, intitulée « An Ever Closer or a More Perfect Union? ». Cette deuxième partie a précédé la conférence magistrale du Professeur Leszek Balcerowicz, ancien vice-président du Conseil des ministres, ancien ministre des Finances de la République de Pologne et ancien président de la Banque Nationale de Pologne. Cette conférence a porté sur le thème des différences de croissance économique en Europe. Vous trouverez ci-dessous les séquences filmées de cet exposé économique magistral.

Le colloque s’est prolongé pendant la matinée du samedi 22 octobre qui a permis d’aborder les formes d’Europe hors de l’Union européenne, c’est-à-dire par le biais d’autres organisations. Cette matinée a également permis de mettre en avant la nouvelle génération de chercheurs grâce à un partenariat entre la Fondation et les organisations HEIRS (History of European Integration Research Society) et RICHIE (Réseau international de jeunes chercheurs en histoire de l’intégration européenne). Ces chercheurs ont présenté les autres formes d’Europe au travers de l’OTAN, de l’OSCE, du Conseil de l’Europe, de l’OCDE et de l’AELE. Cette matinée a été présidée par la Professeure Brigid Laffan, directrice du Centre Robert Schuman à l’Institut universitaire européen de Florence qui a donné son analyse pointue en commentant les différentes communications de la matinée.

Avant que le président Cox ne conclue ce colloque international au large succès, un long moment d’échange avec les intervenants, les acteurs témoins et le public a eu lieu. Cette discussion a porté sur des questions telles que la place de la Suisse dans ces organisations, le Brexit et ses potentiels effets sur de nouvelles formes d’Europe, sur le caractère historique de l’après-guerre des organisations présentées par les intervenants ainsi que sur le défi de la défense européenne et l’avenir de l’Europe politique vers une forme plus fédérale et vers une Union européenne du « noyau dur ».

Ouverture de la conférence magistrale par Pat Cox, président de la Fondation, ancien président du Parlement européen

Conférence magistrale de Leszek Balcerowicz

Discussion entre Leszek Balcerowicz et Pat Cox

top