Herman Van Rompuy, Martin Schulz and José Manuel Barroso receive the Gold Medal of the Foundation

Gold medal of the Foundation – October 17, 2014

On 17 October 2014, the Foundation awarded its Gold Medal to Herman Van Rompuy, President of the European Council; Martin Schulz, President of the European Parliament; and José Manuel Barroso, President of the European Commission.

Through this award, the Foundation sought to jointly commend three people who, at the head of their respective institutions and in the spirit of the Community method forged by Jean Monnet, have succeeded in showing solidarity in confronting the major challenges faced by Europe, by preserving the original community framework that presided over the European integration process.

 

The awarding of the Foundation’s Gold Medal received extensive media coverage

Access the media coverage of the ceremony

*****

The emotion was palpable among the crowd as the helicopters of the Foundation’s three Gold Medal laureates came into sight, arriving in a beautiful clear blue sky that merged with Lake Geneva. Arriving from Geneva airport, they landed at around 17.45 in front of the Amphimax building of the University of Lausanne campus.

The welcome committee, centering around President José Maria Gil-Robles, included members and the management of the Foundation, numerous students and lecturers from the University of Lausanne, and several public figures including Rector Dominique Arlettaz, the Mayor of the City of Lausanne, Daniel Brélaz, and the President of the State Council of the Canton of Vaud, Pierres-Yves Maillard. There followed a special moment to meet and talk over drinks before the Gold Medal award ceremony began with the European anthem, played by the string trio whose musical interludes accompanied the whole ceremony.

 

 

 

Following speeches by the University Rector and representatives of the public authorities, the President of the Foundation gave a laudatory speech in which he expanded upon the reasons for choosing the three laureates to jointly receive the Foundation’s Gold Medal.

The laureates then addressed the public for 15 to 20 minutes each, with speeches that notably evoked the European Union’s work in overcoming the existential crisis that had been threatening it—speeches not devoid of emotion and more personal words referring to their years of collaboration, at a time when two of the three laureates are reaching the end of their term of office.

The ceremony was filmed and broadcast live on the channel Europe by Satellite (EbS).

 

 

Opening of the ceremony

 

 

Speech by Dominique Arlettaz, Rector of the University of Lausanne

 

« La qualité des relations entre la Fondation Jean Monnet pour l’Europe et l’Université de Lausanne est un témoignage quotidien de l’intérêt que les facultés de l’Université, les enseignants, les chercheurs et les étudiants portent à l’Europe. »

 

 

Speech by Daniel Brélaz, Mayor of the City of Lausanne

 

 

Speech by Pierre-Yves Maillard, President of the State Council of the Canton of Vaud

 

 

Speech by Henri Gétaz, Ambassador, Director of the European Affairs Directorate of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs

 

 

Musical interlude: Franz Schubert, string trio in B flat major, D471 – Allegro

 

 

Laudatory speech to the recipients, by José Maria Gil-Robles, President of the Jean Monnet Foundation for Europe

 

“Today, not only does the European Union seem to have weathered the worst of the storm, but new advances have been made in the joint exercise of national sovereignty, and in strengthening the solidarity between the Member States”

“The three presidents commended by the Foundation have succeeded in maintaining continuous, positive dialogue both between the institutions they are at the head of and between themselves personally”

 

 


 

Awarding of the Gold Medal to the recipients

 

 

Musical interlude: Ludwig van Beethoven, string trio in E flat, op. 3, N°. 1 – Menuetto moderato

 

 

Response by Herman Van Rompuy, President of the European Council

 

“We took these decisions standing on the edge of a precipice, with our backs against a wall, and a knife at our throats…It was urgency that brought about these tough decisions. And that is what worries me for the future. Today the urgency is no longer so pressing, but that does not mean that our underlying problems have been resolved.”

 

 

Response by Martin Schulz, President of the European Parliament

 

 

Response by José Manuel Barroso, President of the European Commission

 

“It is this vision of Europe that we defended throughout the years—a strong and united Europe, a Europe of collective solidarity and individual responsibility, a Europe of stability and growth.”

 

 

Intermède musical : Ludwig van Beethoven, Sérénade en ré majeur, op.8 – Allegretto alla Polacca

 

 

Conclusions by José Maria Gil-Robles, President of the Jean Monnet Foundation for Europe

 

 

The musicians in the string trio were Johannes Rose, Mary Elliot, and Olivier Blache.

 

top

Herman Van Rompuy, Martin Schulz et José Manuel Barroso reçoivent la Médaille d’or de la Fondation

Médaille d’or de la Fondation – 17 octobre 2014

Le 17 octobre 2014, la Fondation a remis sa Médaille d’or à Herman Van Rompuy, président du Conseil européen, Martin Schulz, président du Parlement européen, et José Manuel Barroso, président de la Commission européenne.

La Fondation tenait ainsi à distinguer conjointement trois personnalités qui, à la tête de leurs institutions respectives et dans l’esprit de la méthode communautaire imaginée par Jean Monnet, ont su, de manière solidaire, affronter les défis majeurs auxquels l’Europe est confrontée, en préservant le cadre communautaire original qui préside à la construction européenne.

La remise de la Médaille d’or de la Fondation a fait l’objet de nombreux échos médiatiques

Accéder aux échos médiatiques de la cérémonie

*****

L’émotion était palpable dans la foule lorsque les hélicoptères des trois lauréats de la Médaille d’or de la Fondation étaient en vue, arrivant dans un magnifique ciel bleu dégagé se confondant avec le lac Léman. Provenant de l’aéroport de Genève, ils ont atterri vers 17h45 devant le bâtiment Amphimax du campus de l’Université de Lausanne.

Le comité d’accueil comptait, autour du président José Maria Gil-Robles, des membres et la direction de la Fondation, de nombreux étudiants et enseignants de l’Université de Lausanne, ainsi que plusieurs personnalités dont le recteur Dominique Arlettaz, le syndic de la Ville de Lausanne Daniel Brélaz, et le président du Conseil d’Etat du Canton de Vaud, Pierres-Yves Maillard. S’ensuivit un moment privilégié de rencontre autour d’un verre avant que la cérémonie de remise de la Médaille d’or ne débute avec l’hymne européen joué par le trio à cordes dont les intermèdes musicaux ont agrémenté toute la cérémonie

 

 

Après les messages adressés par le recteur de l’Université et les représentants des collectivités publiques, le président de la Fondation a délivré sa laudatio qui développe la motivation du choix des trois lauréats pour recevoir conjointement la Médaille d’or de la Fondation.

Ceux-ci se sont ensuite adressés au public, durant 15 à 20 minutes chacun, dans des discours qui reviennent notamment sur l’action de l’Union européenne pour surmonter la crise existentielle qui la menaçait. Des discours non dénués d’émotions et de mots plus personnels qui se réfèrent à leurs années de collaboration, à un moment où deux des trois lauréats arrivent au terme de leur mandat.

La cérémonie a été filmée et retransmise en direct sur la chaîne Europe by Satellite (EbS).

 

Ouverture de la cérémonie

 

 

Message de Dominique Arlettaz, recteur de l’Université de Lausanne

 

« La qualité des relations entre la Fondation Jean Monnet pour l’Europe et l’Université de Lausanne est un témoignage quotidien de l’intérêt que les facultés de l’Université, les enseignants, les chercheurs et les étudiants portent à l’Europe. »

 

 

Message de Daniel Brélaz, syndic de la Ville de Lausanne

 

 

Message de Pierre-Yves Maillard, président du Conseil d’Etat du Canton de Vaud

 

 

Message d’Henri Gétaz, ambassadeur, directeur de la Direction des affaires européennes du Département fédéral des affaires étrangères

 

 

Intermède musical : Franz Schubert, Trio à cordes en si bémol majeur, D471 – Allegro

 

 

Laudatio des récipiendaires, par José Maria Gil-Robles, président de la Fondation Jean Monnet pour l’Europe

 

« Aujourd’hui, non seulement l’Union européenne semble avoir traversé le gros de la tempête, mais de nouvelles avancées ont été réalisées dans l’exercice en commun des souverainetés nationales, et dans le renforcement de la solidarité entre les Etats membres »

« Les trois présidents distingués par la Fondation ont su maintenir un dialogue constant et positif entre les institutions à la tête desquelles ils se trouvent, mais aussi entre eux personnellement »

 


 

Remise de la Médaille d’or aux récipiendaires

 

 

Intermède musical : Ludwig van Beethoven, Trio à cordes en mi bémol, op. 3, n°1 – Menuetto moderato

 

 

Réponse d’Herman Van Rompuy, président du Conseil européen

 

« Ces décisions, nous les avons prises les pieds au bord de l’abîme, le dos contre le mur, le couteau à la gorge…C’est l’urgence qui a été la sage-femme de ces dures décisions. C’est cela ce qui m’inquiète pour l’avenir. Aujourd’hui l’urgence ne fait plus rage, mais nos problèmes de fond ne sont pas pour autant résolus. »

 

 

Réponse de Martin Schulz, président du Parlement européen

 

 

Réponse de José Manuel Barroso, président de la Commission européenne

 

« C’est cette vision de l’Europe que nous avons défendue tout au long de ces années, une Europe unie et forte, une Europe de la solidarité collective et de la responsabilité individuelle, une Europe de la stabilité et de la croissance. »

 

 

Intermède musical : Ludwig van Beethoven, Sérénade en ré majeur, op.8 – Allegretto alla Polacca

 

b

 

Conclusions, par José Maria Gil-Robles, président de la Fondation Jean Monnet pour l’Europe

 

 

Les musiciens du trio à cordes étaient Johannes Rose, Mary Elliot et Olivier Blache.

 

top