Quality technical infrastructure

The “repository of cultural property” of the Dorigny Farm is an underground extension wherein the Foundation’s archives are stored. It consists of many rooms built in compliance with the highest safety and conservation requirements. Temperatures and humidity level characterising each room are meant to provide suitable conservation conditions for each kind of document. The available space reserve allows serenely to foresee the arrival of new archival holdings.

To understand the genesis of this quality technical infrastructure with optimal conditions both for the conservation of archives and the staff in charge of their processing, we will quote a document within the framework of the subsidy granted to the Foundation by the Canton of Vaud – its main financial support. The document explains the reasons of the trust placed in the Foundation as well as its consistent involvement in its growth in the following words[1] :

“Located at the heart of Lausanne university campus, the Foundation was established in 1978 with the view of creating a memory of the clashes, reconciliation and union of the European people. Jean Monnet himself participated to its creation before handing over his archives to later on. His ambition was to have generations passing on to one another the fruits of accumulated experience and this is what makes the Foundation a place of great symbolic value for the whole continent. It brings a new contribution to the debate about togetherness of Europe. […]

As an acknowledgement of this mark of confidence on the part of Jean Monnet, the State of Vaud has been determined, from the very beginning, to support the Foundation with annual grants and by providing the Dorigny Farm situated on the university campus. […]

Noting the necessity of top-priority and far-reaching works to enhance security, the Council of State, during its December 17th 2008 session, bestowed a CHF 980’000 additional grant for those interventions. The works, which were completed in late 2009, consisted in ensuring safety of the building and the staff, improving on the facility’s foundations and preventing risks relating to latent moisture.

Secondly, in order to facilitate the completion of the Farm rebuilding and the construction in front of the building of a secured underground repository of cultural property intended to adapt the facility to the increase in archive collections and the Foundation’s activities, the Grand Council unanimously voted a CHF 1’618’000 credit during its March 23rd 2010 session. This was to help constructing the extension and its equipment.

Through the investments made by the Canton, the Foundation now has highest conditions for documentary heritage conservation as well as better infrastructure for researchers”.

 

 

[1] Canton of Vaud, Explanatory memorandum and draft decree on the grant allocated to the Jean Monnet Foundation for Europe. January 2015.

 

top

Une infrastructure technique de qualité

L’ « abri de biens culturels » de la Ferme de Dorigny est une extension souterraine qui accueille les archives de la Fondation et comprend plusieurs locaux répondant aux plus hautes exigences de sécurité et de conservation. Les températures et taux d’humidité qui règnent dans chacune des pièces permettent des conditions de conservation différenciées selon la nature des documents. La réserve d’espace prévue permet d’envisager sereinement la venue de nouveaux fonds.

Afin d’aborder la genèse de cette infrastructure technique de qualité, dont les conditions s’avèrent optimales tant pour la conservation des documents d’archives que pour le travail du personnel en charge de leur traitement, nous citerons un passage d’un document, qui, dans le cadre de la subvention qu’alloue à la Fondation le Canton de Vaud, son principal soutien financier, revient en ces termes sur les raisons de la confiance qu’elle lui accorde, ainsi que sur son implication conséquente dans son développement[1] :

« Située au cœur du campus universitaire de Lausanne, la Fondation a été fondée en 1978 avec pour mission de créer une mémoire des affrontements, de la réconciliation et de l’union des Européens. Jean Monnet a lui-même participé à sa création et lui a confié l’ensemble de ses archives. Son souci était de voir les générations se transmettre les unes aux autres le bénéfice des expériences accumulées. C’est en cela que la Fondation est un lieu hautement symbolique pour l’ensemble du continent. Elle nourrit la discussion autour du vivre ensemble de l’Europe. […]

Pour répondre au geste de confiance de Jean Monnet, l’Etat de Vaud a tenu dès le début à accorder son appui à la Fondation en lui octroyant une subvention annuelle et en mettant à sa disposition la Ferme de Dorigny, sise sur le campus universitaire. […]

Constatant la nécessité de travaux de sécurisation urgents et importants, le Conseil d’Etat, dans sa séance du 17 décembre 2008, a accordé un complément de subvention extraordinaire de CHF 980’000.- pour ces interventions. Ces travaux, terminés à fin 2009, répondaient notamment à la nécessité d’assurer la sécurité du bâtiment et des personnes qui y travaillent, à assainir l’édifice au niveau des fondations et à prévenir les risques liés à l’humidité latente.

Dans un second temps, afin de permettre l’achèvement de la réfection de la Ferme et la construction d’un abri de biens culturels sécurisé et enterré devant le bâtiment, destiné à répondre à l’augmentation du volume des fonds d’archives et à l’accroissement des activités de la Fondation, le Grand Conseil a voté à l’unanimité, dans sa séance du 23 mars 2010, un crédit de CHF 1’618’000.- pour la réalisation de cette extension et son équipement.

Grâce à ces importants investissements consentis par le Canton la Fondation dispose désormais de conditions de conservation optimales du patrimoine documentaire et d’une meilleure infrastructure pour accueillir les chercheurs. »

 

 

[1] Canton de Vaud, Exposé des motifs et projet de décret relatif à la subvention à la Fondation Jean Monnet pour l‘Europe, janvier 2015.

 

top