Receiving donations : a selective approach

The Jean Monnet Foundation for Europe is an institution under private law, recognized of public utility. Its mission is to enrich, store, enhance and make its documentary resources available. This is achieved through selective reception of new fonds. Indeed, the archives received by the Foundation are kept in the Farm of Dorigny, where its office is located. Once processed, they can be consulted there by researchers.

Basically made up of private archives, the heritage conserved in the Foundation is both unique and diverse : its uniqueness is due to the fact that Jean Monnet’s archives and Robert Schuman works are historical archives of the European Union; its diversity stems from the fact that those archives are attractive to fonds of other protagonists of the European construction including Jean Monnet’s closest associates, senior officials of European institutions, politicians, university lecturers, economists, industry operators, law specialists and even media figures. In order to be compliant with the Foundation’s prime thematic thrusts, high priority is given to the overall consistency and complementarity of archives.

Systematic prospection has become a process mobilising not only the Foundation’s staff, but also all its components, especially its Council made up of about 500 members. The enrichment capacity of the Foundation’s archives often depends on donation opportunities from connections. Visits of key figures or researchers and video interviews are some opportunities to establish networks and find potential donors. Hence, the Foundation’s library is frequently enriched with new regular or random donations from individuals or legal entities. Several funds have been consistently completed either by donors themselves or their families. The prestige of the Jean Monnet Foundation for Europe, the confidence it has gained on the international arena as well as the attractiveness of its current variety of archives are signs of continuous expansion and diversification.

Amounting to many hundred thousands of documents representing about 500 linear meters (more than 2000 archives boxes), these heritage resources of an immeasurable cultural and scientific value cover strong thematic axes cutting across several academic fields (history, political science, European studies, political economy, international relations, philosophy, law etc.) : the war and peace issue, the reconciliation process of the European people, the establishment and development of European communities in all their dimensions, the role and place of Europe in world politics, Switzerland-European Union relations. As the depository of Jean Monnet’s archives, the Foundation should be the place where maximum sources and documentation on him are stored.

Each donation being specific, individuals and institutions wishing to donate archives to the Foundation are kindly invited to contact our Archives Department by phone at +41 (0)21 692 20 97 or by e-mail at mathias.walter@fjme.unil.ch.

In addition to its original collection, the Foundation is called upon to use its exploitation right to promote other funds from which it receives soft copies given by partner institutions. In this framework, a copy of Paul-Henri Spaak’s archives was handed over by the foundation bearing his name to Jean Monnet’s Foundation for Europe in 2005. Similarly, a copy of Jacques Delors private archives during his ten years at the helm of the European Commission have been donated to the Dorigny Farm beginning of 2016.

top

Une politique d’accueil ciblé

La Fondation Jean Monnet pour l’Europe est une institution de droit privé, reconnue d’utilité publique. Elle a pour missions d’enrichir, de conserver, de valoriser et de mettre à disposition ses ressources documentaires. Ce processus passe par l’accueil sélectif de nouveaux fonds. Les archives qu’elle reçoit en don sont conservées à la Ferme de Dorigny, où la Fondation a son siège et où les chercheurs peuvent venir consulter cette documentation une fois traitée.

Constitué essentiellement d’archives privées, le patrimoine conservé à la Fondation est à la fois unique et divers : unique puisque les archives de Jean Monnet et les papiers européens de Robert Schuman représentent les archives originelles de l’Union européenne, divers parce que ces archives agissent comme un pôle d’attraction pour d’autres fonds de protagonistes de la construction européenne (proches collaborateurs de Jean Monnet, hauts fonctionnaires des institutions communautaires, hommes politiques, professeurs d’université, économistes, industriels, juristes ou journalistes). Une grande importance est accordée à la cohérence d’ensemble et à leur complémentarité, qui relèvent de la conformité des fonds avec les axes thématiques privilégiés par la Fondation.

La prospection systématique s’avère être une dynamique qui, en plus du personnel de la Fondation, mobilise toutes ses composantes, et en particulier son Conseil, qui regroupe environ 500 membres. L’enrichissement relève souvent d’opportunités liées aux réseaux de la Fondation. Les visites de personnalités, les séjours des chercheurs ou la réalisation d’interviews filmées sont autant d’occasions non exhaustives de nouer des contacts au cours desquels se révèlent de potentiels donateurs d’archives. La ressource documentaire détenue par la Fondation se trouve ainsi fréquemment enrichie par de nouveaux dons, aussi réguliers qu’aléatoires, effectués par des personnes physiques ou morales. De nombreux fonds ont été complétés de manière conséquente par les donateurs eux-mêmes ou par leur famille. Le rayonnement de la Fondation, le capital de confiance dont elle jouit et le pouvoir d’attraction découlant des archives déjà présentes laissent présager que la masse documentaire continuera d’augmenter et de se diversifier.

Des axes thématiques forts recoupant plusieurs domaines académiques (histoire, science politique, études européennes, économie politique, relations internationales, philosophie, droit,…) caractérisent des ressources patrimoniales d’une valeur culturelle et scientifique inestimable qui comptent à ce jour des centaines de milliers de documents d’archives représentant environ 500 mètres linéaires (plus de 2’000 boîtes d’archives) : la problématique de la guerre et de la paix, le processus de réconciliation des Européens, la création et le développement des Communautés européennes dans toutes leurs dimensions, le rôle et la place de l’Europe dans le monde, les relations entre la Suisse et l’Union européenne. La Fondation étant dépositaire de l’ensemble des archives conservées par Jean Monnet, il lui appartient de devenir le lieu où est rassemblé le maximum de sources et de documentation le concernant.

Chaque don se signalant par son caractère particulier, toute personne désireuse de remettre à la Fondation des documents d’archives est invitée à prendre contact avec le pôle des archives par téléphone (+41 (0)21 692 20 97) ou par courriel (mathias.walter@fjme.unil.ch).

En plus des fonds originaux qu’elle reçoit, la Fondation est amenée à mettre en valeur, par le droit d’exploitation qui lui est conféré, d’autres fonds dont elle reçoit des copies numériques confiées par des institutions partenaires. Une copie des archives de Paul-Henri Spaak a ainsi été remise par la Fondation éponyme à la Fondation Jean Monnet pour l’Europe en 2005. Une copie des archives privées de Jacques Delors durant ses dix ans de présidence de la Commission européenne a rejoint la Ferme de Dorigny au début 2016.

top