An information resource featured prominently : the thesis of René Cassin dedicated to his father (donation of Mr. Pierre Mercier)

© Fondation Jean Monnet pour l’Europe, Lausanne

© Fondation Jean Monnet pour l’Europe, Lausanne

The Foundation is pleased to honor a jewel of its library: Rene Cassin Thesis dedicated to his father on July 6, 1914. This unique book was donated to the Foundation by Mr Pierre Mercier, Honorary Professor of the University of Lausanne and member of the Foundation Board.

Barely a month after this, in 1914, Rene Cassin was sent to the front where he sustained a serious injury in October. The hardships of war lead him to devote his life to veterans and human rights advocacy.

He is one of the drafters of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, which he presented to the United Nations General Assembly, sitting in plenary session at the Palais de Chaillot (Paris, France) on December 1948. He chaired the European Court of Human Rights (ECHR) from 1965 to 1968 and was awarded Nobel Peace Prize in 1968.

AMK C 16/3/132 - 1
© Fondation Jean Monnet pour l’Europe, Lausanne. AMK C 16/3/132 – 1

AMK C 16.3.132 - 2
© Fondation Jean Monnet pour l’Europe, Lausanne. AMK C 16/3/132 – 2

AMK C 16.3.136
© Fondation Jean Monnet pour l’Europe, Lausanne. AMK C 16/3/136

The Foundation archives show that Rene Cassin and Jean Monnet met several times, especially within the French Committee of National Liberation during World War two and during the ratification of the European Convention on Human Rights by France in 1974.

Since 1988, Rene Cassin and Jean Monnet rest in the same vault in the Pantheon of Paris, by the side of Jean Moulin and André Malraux.

 

0511DL_RRd 1449
© Fondation Jean Monnet pour l’Europe, Lausanne. Fonds Rolf Roth
top

Une ressource documentaire à l’honneur : la thèse de René Cassin dédicacée à son père (don de Me Pierre Mercier)

© Fondation Jean Monnet pour l’Europe, Lausanne

© Fondation Jean Monnet pour l’Europe, Lausanne

La Fondation est heureuse de mettre à l’honneur un joyau de sa bibliothèque : la thèse de René Cassin dédicacée à son père le 6 juillet 1914. Cet ouvrage unique a été donné à la Fondation par Me Pierre Mercier, professeur honoraire à l’Université de Lausanne.

Moins d’un mois après, en août 1914, René Cassin est mobilisé puis grièvement blessé en octobre. L’expérience de la guerre l’amènera à consacrer sa vie à la défense des anciens combattants et des droits de l’homme.

Il fut l’un des rédacteur de la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme qu’il présentera le 10 décembre 1948 à l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies réunie en séance plénière au palais de Chaillot à Paris. René Cassin présida la Cour européenne des droits de l’homme entre 1965 et 1968 et obtint le prix Nobel de la paix en 1968.

AMK C 16/3/132 - 1
© Fondation Jean Monnet pour l’Europe, Lausanne. AMK C 16/3/132 – 1

AMK C 16.3.132 - 2
© Fondation Jean Monnet pour l’Europe, Lausanne. AMK C 16/3/132 – 2

AMK C 16.3.136
© Fondation Jean Monnet pour l’Europe, Lausanne. AMK C 16/3/136

Comme en témoignent les archives conservées à la Fondation, les chemins de René Cassin et de Jean Monnet se sont croisés à plusieurs reprises notamment pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale au Comité français de Libération nationale puis au sujet de la ratification par la France de la Convention européenne des droits de l’homme en 1974.

Depuis 1988, René Cassin et Jean Monnet partagent le même caveau au Panthéon de Paris aux côtés de Jean Moulin et André Malraux.

 

0511DL_RRd 1449
© Fondation Jean Monnet pour l’Europe, Lausanne. Fonds Rolf Roth
top